Portland, OR

Standard

Here are some great things to try if you’re in Portland, OR anytime soon. We recently got to go due to a wedding, and I am so glad we did! This is a beautiful park of the country and very quirky, fun city.

Food Recommendations:

1. Try the food trucks. There are a number of small areas with food trucks parked around a table filled area- definitely worth trying.

1105p134-portland-food-carts-m

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Pine State Biscuits. Seriously. SO. INSANELY. GOOD. The line gets pretty long, so I recommend getting there earlier rather than later. Their gravy is excellent, as is there apple butter. It’s located at 2204 NE Alberta St.

pine state

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Hot Lips Pizza. They have crazy pizza that is delicious. I ate the ham and pear slice. Oh man. Plus, they make their own fruit soda- raspberry and apple and the best in my opinion. It’s just a fun place with numerous locations.

HOTLIPS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4.  Salt and Straw. This is truly the best ice cream I’ve ever had. I may have gone there twice in one day… and I don’t regret it. Also, there are a number of locations throughout Portland. You will not be disappointed.

salt and straw

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now for things to do and see:

1. Oregon Zoo- If you like zoos, this is a fun one! It’s located inside Washington Park. It’s $11.50 for adults and $8.50 for children. A couple hours there is great fun. They also host concerts, so check out that schedule before you go.

2. Powell’s City of Books- The huge location is at 1005 W Burnside St. It is monstrously enormous. I could have spent hours in there. It’s very well done, with fun staff picks and interesting help like “If you like this author, check out this other author on aisle #.” Any book lover’s paradise. Plus it’s used and new books, so the prices are excellent.

3. Historic Columbia River Highway- This is a highway built in the late 19teens and into the ’20s. It runs along the Columbia River and up into the gorge. It offers beautiful views and lots of stops at waterfalls. Each waterfall has a little pull off with a sign explaining how far the waterfall is from the road. Some are right there in sight, others are a 2 mile hike. I highly recommend packing a picnic lunch and going for the day. Stop at the Vista House for a map of the waterfalls first and soak in the view.  The falls I suggest doing (if you’re pressed on time) are: Latourell Falls, Bridal Veil, and Multnomah Falls. I’ve included some pictures to entice you.

Bridal Veil

Bridal Veil

Place to Stay:

We stayed in this great little hotel called the Camas Hotel. It’s about 20 minutes from the airport along the river in WA. Camas is a very quaint little town and the drive from Portland into Camas is gorgeous, boasting views of Mt. Hood the whole way. Their breakfast was delicious and not your typical “continental” affair. I really enjoyed staying there and would highly recommend it for those wanting a slower paced/out of city stay.

Portland, OR 2013 042View from the Vista House on the Historic Columbia River Highway

All in all, Portland is great! I wish I had more time there, so one day we’ll go back. Hope this helps you plan your trip!

About LifeinToyLand

I'm Casey. I'm a twenty-something who is a total nerd and a lover of life. That love includes, but is not limited too: -books -food -family and friends -sleeping late -hot tea -comfy sweats -beautiful shoes -music -crafting/sewing/diy I'm married to a wonderful man, Jason. He's a youth minister, which makes me a minister's wife :) We live far from our family, which makes me sad sometimes, but our goal is follow God, not ourselves. I gave my life to Christ as a child and He has been my strength ever since. I strive to live a life that reflects His ever giving love. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Leave a comment